Skip to content

Exhibition open

We're open Monday – Thursday 10am – 4pm & Sundays 11am – 3.30pm

Death camp

During the Third Reich, the Nazis developed concentration camps that specifically functioned to kill large numbers of people, which are now known as death camps or extermination camps. The six death camps were Auschwitz-Birkenau, Sobibór, Treblinka, Chełmno, Bełżec and Majdanek. At these camps, nearly all the victims were killed a short time after arrival, only a small number of prisoners were kept to help with the running of the camp. Just under 3 million Jewish victims of the Holocaust were killed at these death camps.

extermination camp